Scaffolded Math and Science

(formerly ZeroSum Ruler)

Building Blocks.dotx missing (can’t insert page numbers in Word 7) April 25, 2012

Let me start by telling you that this post is an anomaly.  If you’re here for Math, Math Teaching or Math Education, all other posts on this blog are about those topics.  Somehow my top post is not about Math at all (telling me something?), but in the process of getting my masters degree in Math for Teaching I lost the ability to insert page numbers and so this post was born.  Smack dab in the middle of writing my thesis, which required a detailed table of contents and very specific page numbering, I could no longer number pages.  WTF, right?  For days I scoured Microsoft websites and message boards searching for the answer until finally, through bloodshot eyes, found my answer.   Where did I find that answer?  Hell if I remember, but I knew once and wrote it down here…

-

If you have lost the ability to insert page numbers in Word 7, your Building Blocks.dotx file is missing.  If you know this already and have looked to Microsoft to help you, I’m sorry you wasted your time.  However, if you have Word 7 on another computer, follow these directions to transfer Building Blocks.dotx from one computer to the other (If you don’t have a second computer, continue reading):

-

Building Blocks.dotx fix that works: (also see Aspasia’s comment below for a second solution that worked for her)
1: Get Building Blocks.dotx from a computer that has it.  It’s located in:
Computer>C>Program Files(x86)>Microsoft Office>Office12>Document Parts>1033

If you do not have a second computer with Word, continue reading for an alternate solution.

-

2: Make a copy of the file to the desktop.  Send it via email to yourself.  Download it to the same directory on the computer where it’s currently missing.

-

If you do not have a second computer, you can download the Building Blocks.dotx file at http://www.box.com/s/316bd7ec11f87c77e85f .  It’s also in the sidebar of this blog (in the Box widget).  Having looked for hours for a Microsoft fix online, I feel your pain.  Pain no more!

-

If this fix does not work, here is a comment that came in (you can read it below) about additional steps:

-

      Submitted on 2012/05/22 at 7:59 am

“Hi! Your post helped a lot. It was one of the clearest solutions i found online. However, that didn’t solve my problem. I had to go in Word options>Add-ins>Manage: Templates , Go>add> and then add the file (Building Blocks.dotx) and then Ok. When i opened word again the page numbering templates were there :)  i just thought to add this comment in case someone had the same problem as me.”

 

Happy Page Numbering!

-

 

43 Responses to “Building Blocks.dotx missing (can’t insert page numbers in Word 7)”

  1. Aspasia Says:

    Hi! Your post helped a lot. It was one of the clearest solutions i found online. However, that didn’t solve my problem. I had to go in Word options>Add-ins>Manage: Templates , Go>add> and then add the file (Building Blocks.dotx) and then Ok. When i opened word again the page numbering templates were there :) i just thought to add this comment in case someone had the same problem as me.

    • Awesome! Thank you so much for your feedback! I will add it to the original post!

    • Miroslav Says:

      Where do you see ,, Word options ´´ can you be describe where it is ? i need to know where to look for it I am using slovak language and I am totally exhausted to find what you mean.. I am Slovakian ..thank you for help.

  2. Marian D. Says:

    Many thanks to you both. Between both instructions the problem has now fixed and my hours of typing are now ready to hand in…..can’t thank you enough. Marian.

  3. jil M Says:

    The best help ever. After 2 hours of trying to figure out; found your site and fixed in 10 minutes!!!! Aspasia instructions were so helpful!

  4. Yay! The same thing had happened to me – hours and hours online looking for a solution through Microsoft – so I am glad you are finally on your way to page numbering abd breaking all of your documents. Thank you Aspasia!

  5. Emily Says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH.

  6. 5whAudit Says:

    Thank you…. Thank you….Thank you….

  7. Erich Says:

    “Hi! Your post helped a lot. It was one of the clearest solutions i found online. However, that didn’t solve my problem. I had to go in Word options>Add-ins>Manage: Templates , Go>add> and then add the file (Building Blocks.dotx) and then Ok. When i opened word again the page numbering templates were there :) i just thought to add this comment in case someone
    had the same problem as me.”

    GREAT!!! Thanks

  8. sean Says:

    Thank you this was wonderful. It was very frustrating when i couldn’t figure out how to get page numbers. after seeing this site it took merely a minute to get them on my document!

  9. Erich Says:

    But if you go in Word options>Add-ins>Manage: Templates , Go>add> and then add the file (Building Blocks.dotx) and then Ok, then you can add page numbers.

    • Thanks for adding this. Hopefully anyone who can’t get page numbers in their documents will look through to your comment. Where did Building Blocks go? No one knows…. (insert spooky music)

  10. medni Says:

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. You saved me in so many things: had to go computer library for this reason unfortunately have to go work on the other hand. Paper due was after couple ours from now and page numbers were must. Just thank you. One question: I had to copy and past from my MS word to you, that was how it work. Couldn’t still fix mine …How?

    • Is it fixed now? I can’t remember all the turns I took in order to finally fix my Word, but the comments above are from people who had the same problem and their fixes.
      Let me know!

  11. jpct2 Says:

    thank you so much!!! it really solved my problem of adding page numbers after looking for a solution for so long! :)

  12. katerina Says:

    Thank You!!!!!
    Спасибо!!!!!! (RU)
    Paldies!!!!! (LV)

  13. kamil33 Says:

    Thanx a lot!!
    Everything is so easy if you know how to do it :D

  14. Aleksandr Says:

    Thank you Wery much!!!

  15. Francis Says:

    GREAT!!! 100% works and i don’t even need to call my neighbor for copying this file from his computer. I just simply download it from link above. Thank you so much!!

    • I’m so glad it worked for you! When all of a sudden I couldn’t insert page numbers nor figure out what happened NOR get an answer from Microsoft, I had a feeling others would be in the same situation. To page numbers!

  16. Art Says:

    Great Help!!!! Thank you

  17. modupe Says:

    Fantastic Help. Thank you sooooooooooooooooooo Much
    The page number was driving me nuts until I saw you site

  18. Jane Park Says:

    OMG thank you so much!!!! I’ve been looking for this info for ages!!!!!!

  19. alwi Says:

    very usefull….thx…

    • Graham Vink Says:

      Happy to be the first praiser in 2014. This worked for me, I also had to use the “go in Word options>Add-ins>Manage: Templates , Go>add> and then add the file (Building Blocks.dotx) and then OK” procedure. I had been having a lot of problems with Word crashing (Windows 7, 64-bit) and tried various MS fixits from their site. That fixed the crashing, I hope, but I think that’s what made building blocks go away. I used the download link on this page and it worked fine.

      • Graham Vink Says:

        PS: It is UNBELIEVABLE that Microsoft doesn’t have this fix somewhere on their site, along with a copy of the correct file. I ran their fixit for this specific problem, and it said it was completed, but of course nothing happened.

        • I am really glad to help. Years ago when my page number abilities quit in the middle of my thesis I nearly had a coronary. I’m not sure why Microsoft doesn’t have the fix somewhere obvious (or at all) on their site and that people have to come here – to my Math teaching blog! – for the fix. This is by post with the most hits. Maybe I should blog about Math a bit more! LOL! I am really happy to help and I hope your page numbering goes smoothly from here on out.

  20. Dmitriy Says:

    Hi! I am just another happy guy who found Built-In Building Blocks solution on your blog! Thank you so much! Spent two hours digging information online and found very ‘smart’ advices on restoring the original file, removing the file before restoring the system, etc. … If it’s corrupted, it’s corrupted in the download, period… Thanks again!

  21. Clair mILLS Says:

    As a college student who is older in age I thank you so much for this! This helped me tremendously! I cannot tell you how frustrating it was trying to find a solution! My only problem is that for some reason I have to keep doing this once in a while. Is there a way to keep it so that it wont disappear again? Please keep in mind I am a tad computer illiterate when it comes to these things. (sorry)

    • Oh man, you have to keep doing the fix from time to time? That stinks! I wish I had help for you on this, but for the life of me I could never figure out what I had done to make the page numbers disappear in the first place. It could be completely random (likely) or something burried so deep Microsoft doesn’t even know about it (highly likely). I hope this last time you fix things will be the last, but in case it’s not the file will still be here. I’m sure I’ll need it again in the future as well! Oh Microsoft…

  22. Amelié Says:

    Thank you a lot. Your trick worked, not only once, but twice. This insert page problem keeps on driving me mad in the middle of thesis writing.

    • Amelié Says:

      Just to say that the first time it was just enough copying and pasting the building blocks.dotx file in the document parts folder, but the second time that did not work and I had to go to Word options, manage Add ins, etc… Let’s see how we manage the third time ;)

      • I’m really happy to help, even if it wasn’t a super quick fix the second time. My page numbering abilities disappeared in the middle of my thesis so I feel your pain. I’m starting to wonder if Microsoft waits and targets computers pumping out tons of writing! It seriously couldn’t have happened at a worse time for me and it sounds the same for you. Best of luck and this post will still be here in the future. Here’s to hoping you won’t need it!


got beef?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers